Dai Fujikura

Dai Fujikura was born in 1977 in Osaka, Japan. He was fifteen when he moved to UK to complete his secondary education. His studies continued in college, where, during his sophomore year, he won the Serocki International Composers Competition. Since then, he has been awarded many other important prices including the Royal Philharmonic Society Award, Otaka Prize, WIRED Audi Innovation Award and The Silver Lion Award from Venice Biennale 2017.

Having received numerous international co-commissions, Dai Fujikura’s music has been performed in Europe, Asia, and North and South America. He has received two BBC Proms commissions and in 2013 the BBC Symphony Orchestra gave the UK premiere of his "Atom". Fujikura’s "Tocar y Luchar" was premiered under the baton of Gustavo Dudamel with the Simón Bolívar Youth Orchestra in Venezuela in 2011.

Dai Fujikura’s first opera “Solaris” had its world premiere in Paris 2015. The multimedia production which included dance, electronics, and 3D film was directed by Saburo Teshigawara who also wrote the libretto. The opera is based Stanisław Lem’s famous science fiction novel of the same name. Theatre Augusburg presented a new production of this project for the German premiere in May 2018.

Fujikura’s debut solo album “Secret Forest” was produced by NMC Recordings in 2012. Since then, he’s had numerous albums produced including “Mirrors” which features four of his orchestral works, “Ice” (Kairos label) and most recently, “my letter to the world”, which he produced on his own label Mirabel in collaboration with SONY Japan.

Fujikura also has strong connections to the experimental pop/jazz/improvisation world. His co-composition with Ryuichi Sakamoto – a peripheral movement for electronics – premiered in Hakuju Hall in Japan in 2013, and his collaborative works with David Sylvian were recorded for Sylvian's album Died in the Wool. As a recognition of his many successful cross-over projects, Dai has been named the Artistic Director of the Born Creative Festival in Tokyo Metropolitan Theater in 2017.

Dai Fujikura is published by Ricordi Berlin.

Retrospective - Composers

Thomas Adès, Great Britain
Gustavo Beytelmann, Argentina
Chen Yi, China
Sofia Gubaidulina, Russia
John Harbison, USA
David Philip Hefti, Switzerland
Sven Helbig, Germany
Olli Mustonen, Finland
Matthias Pintscher, Germany
Helmut Oehring, Germany
Torsten Rasch, Germany
Wolfgang Rihm, Germany
Esa-Pekka Salonen, Finland
Iris ter Schiphorst, Germany
Steffen Schleiermacher, Germany
Daniel Schnyder, Switzerland
Steven Stucky, USA
Mark-Anthony Turnage, Great Britain
Erkki-Sven Tüür, Estonia
Jörg Widmann, Germany
Zhou Long, China

Cookies faciliate the providing of our online services. By using our online services, you agree to our use of cookies. Read more …